click here for more
The Beths Reveal Sci-Fi Video For Title Track To 'Jump Rope Gazers'

The Beths Reveal Sci-Fi Video For Title Track To 'Jump Rope Gazers'

Chris Cudby / Friday 10th July, 2020 1:35PM

As the world tucks into Jump Rope Gazers, the hugely anticipated second album from Tāmaki Makaurau's The Beths, they've revealed a bonus gift to make today's record launch even more special, courtesy of a sparkling new Sports Team video for the title track – created with the support of NZ On Air. Described by director Annabel Kean (aka Assistant Editor for this very website) as "a 5-minute sci-fi alien adventure romance," the supernatural clip pairs huge emotions with widescreen, wintery visuals depicting close encounters of the spooky kind, starring the band's Elizabeth Stokes and Jonathan Pearce.

Elizabeth Stokes explained how the title track is a love song at heart: “I've always dabbled in extreme sincerity, but always self consciously. I think there's nothing scarier than just using the words 'I love you' in a song. In a love song. I didn't manage it on our first album, but I guess I was ready for this one. The bass drum Tristan used for this one was a huge old modified marching bass drum. It’s the slowest tempo we have played, which gives us space to do things we wouldn’t normally be able to."


'Jump Rope Gazers' is out now on vinyl LP, CD and digitally via Carpark Records.

The Beths tour their new album throughout NZ in August, September and November – head along here for tickets via UTR and more info.

Links
thebeths.com/
instagram.com/teamsportsteam/

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  


You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. Any small amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR


The Beths
Sat 11th Jul
The Powerstation, Auckland
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Thu 1st Oct
The Yot Club, Raglan
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Sat 3rd Oct
Totara St., Tauranga
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Sun 4th Oct
The Cabana, Napier
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Wed 7th Oct
The Stomach, Palmerston North
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Fri 9th Oct
San Fran, Wellington
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Sat 10th Oct
San Fran, Wellington
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Wed 14th Oct
Playhouse Theatre, Nelson
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Tue 13th Oct
Mussel Inn, Takaka
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Thu 15th Oct
Framingham Winery, Blenheim
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Fri 16th Oct
The James Hay Theatre, Christchurch
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Sat 17th Oct
Dive, Dunedin
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Sun 18th Oct
Tuatara Cafe, Invercargill
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers Tour
Buy
Fri 6th Nov
Auckland Town Hall, Auckland