click here for more
click here for more
Taite Music Prize 2021 Finalists Announced

Taite Music Prize 2021 Finalists Announced

Chris Cudby / Friday 12th March, 2021 8:00AM

It's time to hit the T.A.B. and place your bets, because the shortlist of finalists for the prestigious 2021 Taite Music Prize have been announced today, along with the nominees for this year's Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award. Named in tribute to legendarily iconoclastic New Zealand music journalist Dylan Taite and celebrating its 12th anniversary this year, the Taite Music Prize has long been considered to be a critics' choice award that "recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained in one recording," bestowing the winner with a cash prize of NZ$12,500, while the Best Independent Debut Award winner will receive a $2000 cash prize plus "a performance or technical upskilling opportunity thanks to Auckland Live."

The winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony happening at Tāmaki Makaurau's Q Theatre on Tuesday 20th April, along with the yet to be announced Independent Music NZ Classic Record Award and the Independent Spirit Award, given to "a New Zealand person who assists our NZ musicians to grow and find their own unique pathways." Here's this year's shortlist, whittled down via voting by IMNZ members from a longlist of nominees submitted by record labels both independent and major from across the country...

Anna Coddington - Beams (Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa)
L.A.B - L.A.B IV (Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa)
Nadia Reid - Out Of My Province (Slow Time Records)
Reb Fountain - Reb Fountain (Flying Nun Records)
Ria Hall - Manawa Wera (Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa)
Tami Neilson - Chickaboom! (Neilson Records)
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers (Carpark Records)
The Phoenix Foundation - Friend Ship (The Phoenix Foundation Ltd. / Universal NZ)
Troy Kingi - The Ghost of Freddie Cesar (AAA Records)
Wax Chattels - Clot (Flying Nun Records)

The three finalists for the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut are:

Amamelia - WOW! (Sunreturn)
Dick Move - Chop! (1:12 Records)
Na Noise - Waiting For You (1:12 Records)

IMNZ General Manager, Dylan Pellett enthused, “Another year of diverse musical talent is on display within this year’s finalists. I’d like to extend a hearty congratulations to all the finalists and look forward to celebrating with you all in April this year!"


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!