click here for more
The Chills Share Bittersweet Single 'Scarred'

The Chills Share Bittersweet Single 'Scarred'

Friday 17th August, 2018 12:22PM

Dunedin music icon Martin Phillipps has shared 'Scarred', the latest single from his long-running group The Chills' keenly anticipated new album Snow Bound. A bittersweet jangle-fest in Phillips' trailblazing style, the singer's warm vocals reflect on the personal cost of fame over surprisingly chunky guitar riffage and spiralling keys. You can catch The Chills touring throughout Aotearoa in celebration of their new record this September and October, Phillipps lifted the lift on the lyrical themes behind his latest release in an accompanying statement...

“‘Scarred’ is about realising that you have become too accommodating to all the people who just wish to souvenir a little part of yourself and it also has a contemporary twist by mentioning border-walls which represent the walls we build around ourselves and our decisions on who we let through them into our personal space and lives. It’s also a comment about the demands of online networking versus the maintenance of privacy”


'Snow Bound' is out on Friday 14th September via Fire Records / Southbound.

Links
facebook.com/thechills/

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  


You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!

The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Fri 14th Sep 9:00pm
Altitude Bar, Hamilton
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Sat 15th Sep 8:30pm
Dome Cinema, Gisborne
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Sun 16th Sep 7:00pm
The Cabana, Napier
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Thu 20th Sep 8:00pm
Cassels Blue Smoke, Christchurch
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Fri 21st Sep 9:00pm
Fifty Gorillas, Dunedin
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Sat 22nd Sep 9:00pm
Water Bar, Wanaka
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Thu 27th Sep 8:00pm
San Fran, Wellington
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Fri 28th Sep 8:30pm
The Mayfair, New Plymouth
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Sat 29th Sep 8:30pm
The Globe Theatre, Palmerston North
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Sun 30th Sep 7:00pm
St Peter's Hall, Paekakariki
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Thu 4th Oct 7:00pm
The Butter Factory, Whangarei
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Fri 5th Oct 8:00pm
Leigh Sawmill, Auckland
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Sat 6th Oct 8:30pm
Galatos, Auckland
The Chills - Snow Bound Tour
Sun 7th Oct 7:00pm
Artworks Theatre, Waiheke Island